Reasons Why A Lot of Reiki Masters Are Not Practicing Reiki

Essential Reiki Teaching Manual: A Companion Guide for Reiki Healers by Diane Stein, states:

“The five Reiki symbols are the five levels of mind. Together they are the nonduality of mind and object the emptiness from ego that achieves the highest level of the end of the Path of Enlightenment (Buddhist nirvana). Once achieved , this releases the Being from the wheel of incarnation.”

Depiction of the Bride of Nyarzir, as found in the Ivory Tablets of the Crow.  Ninzuwu teaches the complete Reiki Gnosis as Hahun.

Depiction of the Bride of Nyarzir, as found in the Ivory Tablets of the Crow. Ninzuwu teaches the complete Reiki Gnosis as Hahun.

My understanding of Reiki was greatly enhanced after my initiations into Shinto and Onmyodo.  Based on my experience with such sciences, I can say that Reiki is its own spiritual path, in which a practitioner can learn how to themselves and others, foresee the outcome of present experiences, and many other possibilities that awaken during the course of self-cultivation.

On occasion interest in Reiki begins with the idea of “helping others” and the theme of becoming a “healer.”  While such an approach is sincere, in some regards, it can also become a trap for the novice who is not aware of the value of personal responsibility.

In the early stages of the development of Reiki, certain fictions were put out that Reiki was the method by which Jesus could heal others and etc. Actually, this is not the “fiction” that modern-day Reiki practitioners believe it is when they understand that if one were to use the tools of Reiki cultivation effectively, they will begin to understand the cosmology of certain invisible laws that escape the notice of many.

A lot of the misunderstandings in Reiki occur because many practitioners fail to complete their initiation after the attunement is given. Any initiate of esoteric sciences and shamanism can best verify that with initiation comes change. In Reiki an attunement is one part of the initiation, the other is self-cultivation through the use of some of Reiki’s tools.

Reiki is a spiritual path, not an alternative healing form. In all Eastern schools of thought, healing comes from purifying, cultivating virtue, and clearing one’s life of negativity. The idea of using a method, or technique, to heal someone is a Western perception of an Eastern cosmology. “Okay this is for healing and this is for worshipping.” Attitudes of this sort have nothing to do with Reiki.

The first step that a newly attuned Reiki student must enact is memorization of each of the Five Reiki principles, for that is an initiation itself and reveals some what can cause blockages or impurities in Reiki practice and life overall.

Just for today, do not be angry
Just for today, do not worry
Just for today, be grateful
Just for today, work hard
Just for today, be kind to others.

.The five Reiki principles is the heart of Reiki practice and teaching. Each principle helps us in our cultivation of the five major aspects of the mind, symbolized by the five Reiki symbols.

“Just of today, do not be angry.” Is an affirmation that serves as an aide in the development of the Cho Ku Rei mind. It is of utmost importance that the newly attuned Reiki student cultivate the five Reiki principles. In my opinion, the true gnosis of Reiki cannot be understood until its five principles are engaged.

Since Reiki is advertised as a “healing system,” emphasis of cultivating the mind of Reiki is not often pursued. Instead doors are left open and the Reiki initiate is going around trying to heal everything that moves in order to avoid facing their own demons in the mirror.

The beauty of Reiki is in the process of cultivating the mind of Reiki. One way to begin this process is by the memorization and reciting the five Reiki principles daily. Perhaps moving them, one at a time, through the chakras and back up. As you use the Five Principles as an affirmation, you will notice how possession of “unclean emotional” energy affects the outcome of your experience and your potential in exercising the Reiki mind.

Categories: Art of Ninzuwu, Five Reiki Principles, Onmyodo, Onmyoji, Reiki, Reiki Attunements, Reiki Healing, Reiki Master, reiki origins, Reiki symbols, Shinto

1 reply


  1. Reiki Principles & Ninzuwu Correlations (Level I) – Notes of Howl Blake

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.